top of page

Leah Senior- Creating Her Own Simple World Through Music

Leah Senior is a folk singer who draws her power from the emotional quality of her voice. She lives in a world separate from ours, surrounded by a unique vintage aesthetic. Her music will slow down your world, offering the ability to see the world around yourself in a new way. I spoke with the Australian artist about her hometown, creating worlds, and the pleasures of swimming in the sea.

You grew up in the small town of Woodford, Australia which has an approximate population of 479 people. How did growing up in such a small town shape you as a songwriter?

Woodford is small but it's pretty close to Warrnambool so it didn't feel super tiny. I like to write with space and loneliness, maybe that comes from growing up surrounded by paddocks and the sea. In some ways, there are probably less distractions in the country so more opportunity for introspection.

When did you relocate to Melbourne? Was it a culture shock to live in such a big city compared to where you grew up?

I had wanted to move to the city for as long as I could remember and I moved as soon as I finished school. I can't remember feeling too intimidated by the city. It's always easy to create your own tiny world. I remember thinking how wonderful it was that there were endless streets to ride around and explore.

Do you feel that since you have moved to the city you feel more at home there? Or is the country where your heart is?

My first album, "Summer's In The Ground" has a lot of these themes running through the songs-a kind of search for space and nature whilst being drawn to the business and the mystery of the city. As with everything, it's about finding a balance. I am always happy to get out and spend a few quiet days in my dad's painting studio or jumping into the sea.

What kind of music scene does Melbourne have to offer?

I guess it depends on who you are. There's always something happening and there'll always something that you like and something that you won't. A lot of the best stuff flies under the radar. Probably like any city.

Who are some of your influences?

I'm attracted to music that sounds like it's been written alone somewhere in an apartment with cracked walls and afternoon sun casting patterns through lace curtains. I like old 60's British folk but then I also love more recent artists like Jessica Pratt and Weyes Blood.

What inspired you to start writing and singing?

I always loved any kind of art. I love how nuanced music is and how much you can say.

I love your sparse, 1960s style, could you tell me more about what inspired your signature look?

When I was little I would listen to my dad's tapes, some recorded from a 1960s radio program and I used to cry because I wanted to go back there so much. I've always loved old things. In many ways, I find the modern world ugly so I guess I try to create a world around me that I find comforting.

Have you faced any obstacles navigating the music industry because you are a woman?

It's not always easy to tell. I think I am lucky because the music world that I belong to is separate from the mainstream industry where I'm sure there are still many obstacles regarding objectification and so on.

From where I stand I think it's a great time to be a female musician. A vast majority of the bands I listen to these days are women. I used to wish I was a man because I wanted to sound like a 1970's British powerpop boy band but I've since come to appreciate that being a girl means you have a lot to say.

What is some advice you would give to other female musicians?

I have a tendency to be quite self-conscious. I don't know if this is related to being female but I suspect in some ways it is. Sometimes I won't pick up a guitar and play along with others because I don't feel comfortable taking as many risks as others do. Try not to give a shit and just play along, go for stuff. Also, try not to worry too much about the industry- there is always more to do and more to worry about so choose to play and write over sitting in front of that flippin' computer screen.

bottom of page