top of page

Madi Rindge: On Songwriting, Growing Up In A Grammy Award Winning Home, and Her Aspirations.

Madi Rindge emulates classic feel-good pop. The Los Angeles native has an impressive repertoire as her song "Summertime" was picked up for film and television placements including an independent film at Sundance and Tribeca Film festivals. Her music is positive as she writes to empower and inspired other women with feel-good danceable beats. Read on to learn about Madi Rindges inspirations, growing up in a Grammy award winning household, and her aspirations.

How did growing up in Los Angeles shape you as an artist?

I feel so lucky to have grown up in LA. Being around so much talent and entertainment all the time really put my aspirations to the test. Every time I to a concert I am constantly reminded of my passion and I always leave feeling re-inspired and so excited. Living in LA has given me so much perspective and opportunity and I’m constantly taking advantage of that!

When did you start writing and performing your own music?

I’ve been performing since a really young age, having grown up classically trained on piano and performing at piano recitals. I didn’t start writing my own music until I was about 12, when my parents divorced and I found writing to be incredibly therapeutic. Writing is definitely still that for me!

Your bio states that you grew up in a "Grammy award-winning household," what was it like growing up in an environment like this?

My dad, who is the Grammy Award winner, was able to take my family on tours, to studio sessions, meet and greets and more. After seeing both the glamorous parts of it and the not-so-glamorous parts (which there are definitely a lot of!), I only became more and more excited about my career as an artist. I was ready for it all because I’m not in it for just the highs. I am so passionate about what I do that those things aren’t what makes me want a career like this. Therefore I feel like I have a good understanding of what it means to make it in an industry like this. It takes so much hard work, persistence, strength, and dedication, but I’m in for the long haul!

Is there a certain level of success that you strive for because you grew up in this kind of home with those kinds of influences?

Everyone’s definition of success is different but I definitely strive for a very high level of success. One where I’m able to live my life constantly doing what I love and constantly learning and growing. Ultimately I want to make a lot of positive change in the world and I want to do that through music. I want to headline a world tour in this lifetime, for example, and constantly be writing, performing and recording. I also think it would be super fun and rewarding to eventually build out the ‘fashion’ aspect of my brand and own a fashion line.

Your bio states you write songs for other artists as well? How do you go about selling your songs and do you have any tips for other girls trying to get into songwriting without performing?

Yes, I do! For years I was writing just for myself and then started working with a writing partner and together we got in touch with artists looking for new material. We also were writing toplines for DJs. As soon as we had done that with a few songs, we were contacted through word of mouth. Eventually, I started positioning myself not only as an artist but also a songwriter, which helped me continue writing for other artists.

To anyone who’s trying to get into songwriting — don’t hesitate to be bold and reach out to people and artists saying you’re a writer and that you want to write for them! Definitely, be prepared with tunes you’ve written, even if it’s just you singing over guitar or piano. Remember that half of it is the hustle!.

What are you listening to right now?

Lately, I’ve been really into Kehlani, Marc E. Bassy, NAO, Sza, Sabrina Claudio, SG Lewis, and Sinead Harnett. I’m seeing a few of these artists perform in October and can’t wait!

When can we expect to hear new music from you?

I’m currently finishing up my EP and am so excited to share it with everyone!! Hoping to release a couple singles off of the EP in the next month or so.

Do you ever feel like the music industry is difficult to navigate as a female artist?

Yes. I think there is a double standard for sure. Though that can make things more difficult and often others label us as one thing or another, that doesn’t stop me. In fact, it only makes me work harder. I want to make some serious change for female artists in this male-dominated industry.

What is some advice you would give to other female artists trying to navigate the music industry?

I would say to always follow your passion and trust yourself. You know yourself better than anyone else! Build a team of people who support you and your career because, with the right support, you feel like you can conquer the world! Trust and love yourself, and enjoy the journey! Another thing I highly recommend, and something I’ve been trying to do myself, is to get a mentor - someone who has done what you want to do and can offer advice.

bottom of page