top of page

Morgan: How Occult and Astrology Influence Her Music

London based singer songwriter, Morgan, combines elements of jazz, electronic, and blues. Her interest in occult and astrology heavily influences her music and style, creating the aesthetic of a Wiccan songstress. Her cover of Amy Winehouse's "Back to Black" is especially memorable as it is captivating as a simple and entrancing take on the song. I recently spoke with Morgan about the influence of occult and astrology on her music, her style, and life.

How do you think being raised in London has affected your style and sound? London offers a variety. For example the Jazz & Blues in Soho, the rock & indie scene in Camden, you’re never short of inspiration from all different kinds of people. It has allowed me to be as creative as I want. There are always events, schools, charities, foundations, and places to meet new people and receive guidance and advice.

How did become interested in occult and Astrology?

It started as a child, I had an interest in the Ancient Egyptians as I found the history magical and mysterious. I found it fascinating that they had knowledge of the skies without technology and so from that, I started to look into astrology. Everything is energy, so why wouldn't the planets affect us? I don't believe anything exists without a reason. Astrology gives me an opportunity for understanding people and situations. While as a child it was considered taboo, Astrology is more accepted now although it is still dismissed.

What do you consider yourself? Pagan? Wiccan?

I don’t like labels because they put you in a box! I have been asked by numerous people if I am a witch. Do I do spells and practice witchcraft? No! Am I interested in it? Yes. The thing about the term “witch” is interesting. Past societies condemned women who were merely experimenting with their feminine powers, used nature as medicine, looked to astrology for answers, used tarot readings for guidance, and connecting with past spirits and entities. They were branded as witches and were seen as something negative and dangerous when really they were just women practicing in things that men didn’t understand. I've researched a lot about the way women have been treated by society throughout history, it pulls on me. So do I call myself a witch by the definition of "women who went against what is societally accepted and experimented with their power?" Yes. Maybe I was one in a past life.

Who are some of your influences in music and fashion?

Musicians that have soul in their music, have a reason to do what they are doing, reflect the state of affairs in that relevant time period, and are passionate are normally the kinds of artists I draw inspiration from. I love Bob Marley, Nina Simone, Amy Winehouse, Lana Del Rey, Little Walter, Sade, and J. Cole. In terms of fashion, I wear black a lot despite the fact that it is a trend now. I like lace and satin, anything that allows me to feel sexy, powerful and feminine.

How do your beliefs in occult and Astrology affect how you write?

They affect how I think as a person which in turn, affects how I write. I have heard my whole life that I look too deeply into things. I look for meaning and I end up down a bit of a dark rabbit hole. I tend to overthink, but I like to understand and find a deeper meaning in life. What astrology and the occult offers me is a step into the unknown where you can find answers, songs just tend to be a result of that process.

What are you listening to right now?

Sabrina Claudio in general but I like "Orion’s Belt," she is sexy and her voice is gorgeous.

Your bio states that you fell off of your musical path for a while, could you tell me more about that?

Like most teenagers, I was drinking and partying a lot and that was essentially what my life was. I gave up on music when I was 18 and then for a couple of years, I worked to be able to socialize and wear a new expensive outfit every time I went out. I was trying to escape from something. I realized it was the wrong path after I got myself into some sticky situations. It all reached a peak when I was 21. I realized my life had no substance, I didn’t have any direction or purpose which made me feel lost.

Have you faced any obstacles navigating the music industry because you are a woman?

The most frustrating thing about being a woman in this industry is men befriending you and making you believe that they will help you when their intentions are to get what they want from you. It is a male dominated industry so as a woman, I don’t think you are taken seriously. In life in general, it is very easy to be dismissed and made to feel small because you are women, especially if you are in tune with your emotions. We live in a matriarchal society driven by ego, the music industry is full of very large egos, so it is a battle trying to be heard.

What is some advice you would give to other female singer-songwriters?

Keep going! The more women who push past the boundaries in place allows for more women in the future to face fewer obstacles. Especially in the creative industries, which is literally tapping into suppressed feminine energy.

bottom of page