top of page

Top Pics: Adriana Flores of The Altons

The Altons will be releasing a vinyl 7" on Steady Beat Records on August 25th. Their music captures elements of jazz and Motown as the listener steps into a world of dreamy vintage pop and soul. The 5 members of The Altons seamlessly create a simple backdrop for melody driven songs that will inspire you to dance the night away.

East LA native Adriana Flores "co-sings" for the group with her 1970's influenced style and sound. Her vintage aesthetic and huge afro are difficult to ignore as she dances through the catchy beats of the band's tunes. Her voice is simple and clear, reminiscent of classic underground artists like Little Anne and Wendy Rene.

You can find pre-order The Altons newest single here.

What is the writing process like for the Altons?

The guys were a band beforehand, they have worked together for a long time. I entered the band when they were a few years in. I was in a soul group called JQ and The Review and we played a show with The Altons. We all ended up getting along and the singer of JQ and The Review and I ended up joining The Altons and it eventually became kinda like a mesh. We all are songwriters so it's kinda like a group effort. I write a lot of lyrics and the vocal parts that I sing.

How long have you been singing?

I've been singing since I was a kid. I like ballad singers, I like Whitney Houston, and people like that. Once I got into middle school I got really into classic rock so I love Janis Joplin. In my head, I sing like Robert Plant, even though I know I don't. I like vocalists like that, like the 70's is where my heart is. I fell in love with Amy Winehouse too once I got a little bit older and jazz singers like Ella Fitzgerald.

What are some of your favorite places to see live music in LA?

I love the Greek, that's an amazing venue. I've seen some pretty sick shows there, also at the Palladium. As for smaller venues, I like Harvard and Stone.

What are you listening to right now?

Right now I really like Solange's new album A Seat at the Table. I also really like Little Dragon I'm never really over Radiohead, they are always something that I am gonna fall back to. I am also loving Alabama Shakes. I saw them at the Greek and that was one of the best shows I've seen in my life, and all I ever do is go to concerts. I've seen countless bands and they blew my mind!

What is something in your wardrobe that makes you feel confident?

For onstage I love accessories. The guys are usually pretty casual, sometimes they try to dress up but it's usually pretty simple. So I never want to wear like anything too flashy that might distract people. So I like wearing different kinds of chokers and earrings and things like that. I also have huge hair so I like to mess with that and let it get as big as it wants.

 

You can find more of The Altons here. Or to see their next show on August 25th at Civic Center Studios in Los Angeles click here. Photos are from The Altons Instagram @thealtons

bottom of page