top of page

Inspiration: Jamila Woods Reminds us of the Beauty of Being Alone in her song Holy.

Jamila Woods reminds us of the beauty of being alone in her song titled Holy. She sings, "woke up this morning with my mind set on loving me....I'm not lonely, I'm alone, and I'm holy, by my own." The video features Woods dancing alone, relaxing alone, and basking in her own company. A friendly reminder that alone time can be some of the most productive, refreshing, and rejuvenating practices. Some times, in our world that is so focused on companionship, whether it be with family, friends, or lovers, it is important to remember to take a moment and step back. Relaxing with the company of ourselves can be just as important as basking in the company of others.

Take a listen to Jamila Woods as her sound is reminiscent of artists such as Erykah Badu and Solange. Her song Holy will have you dancing alone naked in your living room on this fine Sunday afternoon.

bottom of page