top of page

Sin Color: Latin Pop from South Los Angeles


Sin Color is an experimental pop group with classical and contemporary influences. The Group is based out of South LA and is quickly growing in popularity as their fearless originality is difficult to ignore. Sin Color, meaning "without color," is stepping out from traditional Spanish music stereotypes with their constantly evolving sound. The name is an accurate representation of the group as their sound changes with every song. Each one has its own spirit, genre, and color. I spoke to Crisia Regalado and David Aquino about South LA, their music, and inspirations.

How did growing up in South LA affect your songwriting and style?

David: It made us diverse because there is so much live music going on in Downtown LA and South Central. There are a lot of concerts in the summer and a lot of bands around that helped me personally with writing music and being open to different kinds of music which is what Sin Color is about.

What is your guys' songwriting process like?

Crisia: I write lyrics and David writes the instrumental parts. So he works it out on the guitar or the piano, or whatever instrument he decides to use, then he adds all of the other instruments over that, and together we work on the format.

What inspired you to pick up a guitar?

David: Well when I was in sixth grade I started taking guitar classes with my classmates. And it was like really competitive amongst ourselves we would just have to be like the best on the guitar. It was really friendly and it was a really fun guitar class, but since then I have just been learning by myself.

Did you make a conscious choice to sing and write mostly in Spanish or did it just seem natural to do so?

Crisia: It just seemed Natural. When I was younger I tried writing lyrics in English and I just couldn't. It wasn't until I tried writing in Spanish and realized that my thoughts just flowed better.

What are you guys listening to right now?

Crisia: I'm coming back to my first inspiration Shakira because I've begun to notice her influence in my voice and writing. I love listening to Natalia Lafourcade, her music is very beautiful and classy. My favorite albums of hers are "Hasta La Raíz" and "Homenaje a Agustín Lara." Another great composer and poet I love to analyze and learn from mainly his lyrics

David: Right now I mainly listen to trap music. I listen to it for about two hours almost every day on my to work and back. I also listen to a lot of New York radio (hip hop). My favorite artists right now are Migos, Future, 2 Chainz, and Sia. I'm a Huge fan!!

Do you guys find that you or your music is often stereotyped because you guys are singing in Spanish?

David: Yes, once I mention the word "Spanish" a ton of people get turned away real quick. They think it's Banda or something. When that happens, I usually pull open Spotify and play a little to show them that's it's not what they think

Crisia: People have tried to put us in a box which is why David and I bring new and diverse ideas to the table that represent Sin Color. All it takes is for someone to experience one of our shows or to take a listen to our whole album (which comes out 7/7/17) for them to rule out that stereotypical box they thought they could put us in. Helping them to understand that Sin Color could be anything.

Have you faced any obstacles playing music because you are a woman?

Crisia: As a woman in this industry it has been difficult balancing being a "nice girl" and a boss. I feel like it is easier for a man to simply say no to an idea without getting questioned than when a woman to gives an order or a suggestion. This mainly happens when dealing with sound and studio. Also when collaborating, I've tried getting musicians to play with us and they've charged a high rate but when I get asked to perform on their projects I can't even charge half because I'm automatically deemed as a diva or money hungry. Being in charge of a backing band can also be difficult because being assertive automatically labels you a bitch in this industry.

What is some advice you guys would give others who want to start playing music?

Crisia: If you love music, do it! There is no wrong way to play music. Think outside the box, don't limit yourself before starting. Simply start writing and label it after. I know as humans we don't like to be labeled, especially when growing and going through so much change, so don't do the same to your music. You should also save as much money as you can so when starting your project you don't have to rely on others.

David: If someone wants to play music for a living, I suggest just going in 100% off the bat. I think that is where most artists get stuck when they want to get to the next level. As an artist, there is so much fear of being broke or unsuccessful, which I feel holds people back from going "all in." Being confident that you'll be successful is like the fuel for your career as an artist.

bottom of page