top of page

Stephanie Morganti: Long Island's Pop Princess

Stephanie Morganti is a 19 year old pop powerhouse from Long Island, New York. She writes with the honesty and passion of an older and more mature songwriter, and her soulful honest voice represents influences of R&B, pop, and hip hop. In her song "Love N Hate" produced by Bass, she belts out "you want me back, but now it's too late/ erase the past, now love has turned into hate, now love has turned into hate. So I gave you my love and you gave it away/ thats why my heart is blue and my sky's are grey/ and you'r to blame." Morganti mixes hip hop beats with soulful and intricate melodies that are bound to get stuck in your head. I interviewed Morganti this past week about Long Island and her songwriting process.

Who are your influences?

For a decade now it's been Demi Lavato. She's incredible and ever since As The Bell Rings, I had the confidence to start performing. Click here to see As the Bell Rings.

I love your song "Deep in Love," could you tell me more about writing it?

Thank you so much, yeah well I write about all my experiences with relationships and personal stories. I get inspired once I hear a beat, I try to make a melody first then start with writing a solid hook. Must have a hook.

Are you on a label or are you independent?

As of right now, I'm just working with anyone that has beats to send me, or wants to record me. I am not with a label as of yet.

How has being from Long Island affected your songwriting, style, and who you are as an artist?

I've lived in Shirley, NY my entire life. It's a town out in Suffolk County. I think everybody is different based on where they grow up because of their culture, the people, and way of life. It really shapes someone's character. Being around friends who always are trying to achieve the same goals as me in the music industry inspires me even more. We talk about similar stories in our songs because we have lived the same struggles, experiences, and good times.

What kind of music community does Long Island have to offer?

Well there are of course some amazing venues here on Long Island. For example, the Paramount, 89 North in Patchogue. It's a great way to get in there and perform, you never know who's listening in the audience! It is mainly locals, but regardless, Long Island is where it's at! We support one another.

Do you ever think about leaving your hometown?

I have my moments where I wish it was not so cold, but I really believe I will stay here especially to raise my family one day! Preferably out east close to where I live now and have always lived, Hamptons is the spot I'm thinking about.

When did you start writing songs and what inspired you to do so?

I started writing when I was 12 years old. My personal experiences definitely helped the writing process for me. It's coming from me and that's what makes it real and special.

What are you listening to right now?

Right now Im obsessed with Drake. More Life is awesome

Have you had any difficulty being taken seriously because you are a woman?

No not at all, I have an amazing support system behind me, and they know I'm very passionate about what I do and so they know to take me serious regardless me being a female

What is some advice you would give to other girls trying to start an independent music career?

I'm still trying to start my own career, and this business is very competitive, but that is what comes with it, so no matter what, be true to yourself. Show everybody what you're made of, kill it and let time tell

You can find Stephanie Morganti @stephanie_morganti

bottom of page