top of page

Christina Riley: Burnt Palms

Christina Riley currently resides in the foggy beach town of Seaside, California. She is a multitalented musician, mother, and photographer. Her band Burnt Palms captures 1990's grunge, punk, and surf in their catchy guitar driven songs. I recently sat down with Riley in her home to discuss her band, motherhood, and mental health.

Who are your influences?

I remember in like third grade my sister (who is older) was listening to Hole. That was probably my first influence. Maybe The Cranberries too. Then as I got a little older Built to Spill was one of my favorite bands, and Nirvana of course! I also like Bessie Smith she's really cool.

What got you into playing music?

When I was like 15 I got that acoustic guitar ( she motions behind me to an old leather case leaning against the wall), but like its so big I never play it! I started writing songs and I taught myself guitar, so I don't know like scales and shit. I would come up with like the worst songs ever. Like they were so fucking bad. And then I just started playing covers of this band called Saves The Day and I was actually OK at them. He doesn't have a great voice, but it sounds good, and I'm like oh! I could do this! I don't have a great voice, but I can play these songs.

How did Burnt Palms get started?

I had a band before, well not really a band because we never played live, but it was called Hey Sister, and it was kinda folky. It was accordion, banjo, guitar, kinda stuff and it was pretty cool. Then I went crazy in 2011. Like straight up manic died. As I was getting out of that my friend Sara Mardon knew that I wanted to play music with a drummer, so she hooked me up with her drummer friend named Clara who was looking to play. At the time I had already written like ten songs, so she just played the drums for all the songs on the first album.

What prompted you to go from playing folk to rock n roll?

When we started Burnt Palms I just wanted to play music that was kinda upbeat instead of folky. My crazy uncle gave me this guitar, (she motions to a 1980's Fender Squire Stratocaster hanging behind her on the wall). It even has this sticker on it and it's my favorite sticker ever. It says love each other. He gave me that guitar which was my first electric, and so when I got that I was so inspired. I just wanted to be loud. I feel like it really opened up this whole other world for me because it just felt like me you know. On top of that Clara just happened to be an amazing drummer so I got kinda lucky.

Christina Riley of Burnt Palms interview with The Soul Link

How has being a mother influenced your songwriting and music career?

It's definitely harder to do things for sure, it's harder to find time to practice, and I need a baby sitter to play shows. As for lyrics, I don't really ever talk about her (daughter), it’s always just about like my emotional feelings. Usually when I write it's like really late at night. I will get out of bed at like 1am or 2am and I will come in here and write. I used to drink when I did it but I'm trying not to now. It's cool because I brought her along on the first tour we went on. She was about 8 months and she played a show with me. I just wanted to do it for her memories because I want her to grow up to be strong woman who is artistic and has these experiences that are unusual. Click here to see video.

Photo By @yrfirstcrush

What inspires you to write?

I feel like....mental health for me. A lot of the stuff I sing about is the result of going through mania or depression. A lot of the songs talk about all these heavy emotions I have. I think it's cool to be like open about that kind of shit because a lot of people hide it and that's not very healthy.

Do you write about it as a way to help other people, or is it mostly therapeutic?

It's therapeutic. Then it just turns out that it does help other people. Yeah everything is all about me! (Laughs) My photography work is all based on my own life and my music is too.

What advice wild you give to other women trying to get into the world of rock n roll?

I would just say to experiment and try different instruments. You don't have to know what your doing. Sometimes you getter better end results if you don't know what your doing so just don't think about it. Also if you can make music with your best friends I think that's the way to do it. Even though my band was never really best friends before, and we ended up with this really awesome working relationship.

Has being a woman in the world of rock n roll offered any obstacles?

Being a female has almost been a leg up for us which is cool because I feel like in the past it was really tough for female musicians. I think there are just some guys that are douche bags, but it didn't affect Burnt Palms at all like. It was never a problem for us.

You Can purchase Burnt Palms' music or find out more about them at the following links.

bottom of page